Singlewhitediabetic's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Spring cleaning myself… March 19, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — singlewhitediabetic @ 1:06 pm

Spring makes me happy. It makes me want to get outside and walk and play and have fun. I start getting antsy for summer concerts and festivals. I actually want to go outside and trim hedges and go to farmer markets and such and such. Inside I want to clean with the iPod pumping and the windows and door open. It’s wonderful. Oh, and I didn’t even mention kickball – one of my favorite social sports ever!

Part of this also becomes very healthy for me – I want to eat better and lose weight. Weight has been a lifelong battle for me thus far and will continue to be one. My diabetes does require some planning around all the activities – keeping something with me for lows, adjusting bolus amounts for increased exercise, figuring out how to carry all the supplies with a lighter uniform. It’s obviously worth it to me, but it’s interesting to think about.

I have realized one of my issues with food is that it’s very social to me. For more than 50% of my meals I’m eating with friends. I enjoy this but sometimes get caught up in the socializing and eat more than I would if I were just concentrating on when I’m full or not. So a new initiative for me to is to force myself to think about what my hunger level is before a meal starts, reassess half-way through and then again when done. I started this week and it’s not always easy, but it is giving a little more thought to what is going into my body. My levels seem to have improved from this method too.

A lot of posts coming up will probably be around weight and the battle! I’m a soldier and if I can handle diabetes I can make weight-loss happen…I just know it!

 

One Response to “Spring cleaning myself…”

  1. You can do it! You just have to keep marching on, soldier!!!


Leave a Reply

