Singlewhitediabetic's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

“curve-aceous” April 4, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — singlewhitediabetic @ 4:12 pm

As an addition to a nearly perfect day, I decided to pull out a new nail polish color and cover up my blue toenails from vacation. Now my toes are curve-aceous. 🙂 I always thought that would be a fun job…for at least a week – just naming colors of things! Oh, and writing greeting cards! Opi, Hallmark, do you hear me?

I’m embracing a slightly selfish time in my life. I really want to focus on doing things that are good for myself and that protect myself. I, since i could walk and talk, have always been worried about taking care of everyone else first. That’s not where I am right now.

Having said that, I did enjoy a really good sermon at church today. It was about how all our dreams don’t come true (okay, I’ll live in Hallmark doesn’t call) and we have to mourn those losses and move on. If we settle on thinking about it, we allow bitterness to come in, which can be a major setback.

I’m always going to be, for example, a person with diabetes. Losing normal life is a major loss. It’s not the end of the world though, and I won’t let it make me bitter. I will accept it as part of myself and continue on with other dreams!

This applies to other areas of my life as well. I didn’t grow up a popular kid or the girl every guy wanted to take out. I’m not going to focus on that but still embrace dating and “luuuuuuv” with proper vigor.

As I mentioned, I’ve had a pretty perfect day and am feeling incredibly fortunate…curve-aceous toes and all!

 

2 Responses to ““curve-aceous””

  1. I LOVE that name. I agree that you’d make a good “color namer”. Who says you can’t invent your own?!?!

    I am so happy that you’re in the place where you are in your life right now. I think that you focusing on YOU is an awesome thing and you’ll feel more better for it in the long run!

    I love you, you curve-aceous gal you!!!

  2. Ooops, that was me, the comment before. 🙂


Leave a Reply

