Singlewhitediabetic's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Lonely Diabetic April 12, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — singlewhitediabetic @ 9:31 am

In a crowded room, one can feel alone. Sometimes my diabetes makes me feel alone. Other people may have to think about the calories in food, but they don’t have to think about how it will affect their body and how they have to adjust levels and exercise and insulin input and such. I accept it, but some days dealing with it are harder than others. And I guess it’ll probably always be that way.

I’m looking forward to the Women’s Conference next month to be around other Diabetics…it already makes me a little teary to think of NOT being alone with the disease. I’m taking a couple of days off work for myself for after too, to process. I very much appreciate the DOC, but am looking forward to seeing some faces – though I don’t know anyone else going.

I’ve started dating again very recently and I think that’s part of the alone. I feel I have to hide it. Normally I just adjust my pump where ever I am (and test for that matter), but on a date I go to the bathroom and try to hide the pump. If either of the guys have seen it, they haven’t mentioned it. If they did mention it, I’d explain it. Otherwise I’m not sure when it will come up. I don’t like that it feels like a dirty confession. I don’t like the idea that I manage it on my own, but know it could make someone else feel like “woah, that’s too much.” But is it deceptive to not make it known up front?

Hello Monday morning.

 

5 Responses to “Lonely Diabetic”

  1. ChipMac Says:

    It’s tough to decide how much information about yourself you tell and when you tell it, when meeting someone new. Open up too early, and people think you have no boundaries. Stay closed, and you are perceived as unfriendly or sneaky.

    I say trust your instincts. You will know if and when the time is right. And whether is “goes well” or not, you will learn more about that person than they have learned about you.

    IMHO, of course.

  2. Wise betweentz the ears.

  3. Sue/RFamHere Says:

    I totally understand about feeling alone. Even as the mom with five kids (so rarely alone) and a wonderfully supportive husband, I feel so alone about my diabetes more times than I’d like to admit. Thankfully I can usually recover quickly, but sometimes I’m in a rut all day. {{{hugs}}} to you!

  4. People just don’t realize how much of your daily life is consumed by diabetes, do they? I know that until I started reading your posts, I really didn’t! Keep ’em coming.


Leave a Reply

