Singlewhitediabetic's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Diabetes at work May 4, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — singlewhitediabetic @ 4:53 pm

My blog, thus far, hasn’t said a lot about my actual life. One thing to know is I’m a project manager. I feel really fortunate that I love it. I like working with people, learning technologies, keeping on top of things like schedule/budget and … well, pretty much all of it. I recognize frequently that I’m fortunate to work for a great company too. Today was yet another reminder.

Today was one of my two favorite parts of a project – kick-off (the second is the day after go-live)! I got up early to get in earlier than normal to get a room set-up and some snacks provided and such. And the first meeting went super! I was happy, the sponsor was happy and the vendor was happy. Happy! I had a chance to eat lunch outside with some fun coworkers and enjoy the sun. Then at 1:30 I went to my 2-hour afternoon meeting. Forty-five minutes into it, diabetes reared its head. I started shaking. I waited a few minutes and it continued. While I hated to do it, I got up and left the room to go test. I was at 50. Fudge – that’s really low. I ate some fast-acting glucose tablets I carry with me, grabbed a soda and my meter and headed back to the meeting. I continued to test until I was sure I was in a good range. During that 15-20 minutes of not-okay to okay, I listened but couldn’t take notes. Ever tried to take notes with insane shakes and a cold sweat? Not easy. It was fine though. I tested under the table and continued the meeting and didn’t cause any issues. The meeting also ended up going great! Woohoo! Diabetes overcome!

In reflecting, I realized what caused the low. Because I was wearing a dress, I gave myself insulin before I actually sat down for lunch. Well, at lunch I didn’t really like the taste of the whole-wheat wrap I had packed. So, I took out the ham and lettuce and ate that sans wrap. I also didn’t eat all the cantaloupe I had brought in. So I had given myself insulin for my whole lunch and not consumed it all.

I got in the mail today a cute “wristlet” that will allow me to more easily carry my testing supplies (and glucose tablets) into meetings more easily without the big purse. I plan to use this going forward. So addition to my Franklin Covey I will have some stickmedesigns.com with me! An accessories girl!

I again felt grateful that I have a job that allows me to deal with a disease and continue working and loving it.

 

One Response to “Diabetes at work”

  1. Just like everything else in your life…you don’t let it slow you down. You just grab the reins, take charge and go full speed ahead! Awesome!


Leave a Reply

