Singlewhitediabetic's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Picking up the lows May 11, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — singlewhitediabetic @ 12:50 pm

Day 2 – Making the low go. Tell us about your favorite way to treat a low. Juice? Glucose tabs? Secret candy stash? What’s your favorite thing to indulge in when you are low? What do you find brings your blood sugar up fast without spiking it too high?

Glucose tablets are the treatment that seems most effective without sending me high. However, I have run out on occasion or not had them with me. In these cases, I’m most likely to grab a sugary soda, which seems to act pretty quickly.

There was a day at work that I was low right before a birthday party. I normally attend these, but skip the cake. That day I was excited to actually have an excuse to indulge that day. Though, being low feels bad…so it makes it harder to enjoy whatever the “treat” is.

 

4 Responses to “Picking up the lows”

  1. I think Brien had a low-sugar incident on Sunday! On our way home from church, he started getting the shakes and feeling like he was going to pass out. He was dizzy. We swung through McDonald’s and he got a sweet tea and some nuggets. He felt better fairly quickly. It really scared me, especially since he was driving!!! He hadn’t eaten any dinner Saturday night. We had a late lunch. Then we skipped breakfast on Sunday morning. I think it just finally caught up with him.

    Hope you’re having a good week.

    LOVE YOU!

    • That is scary. Has he ever been tested? When I would go low pre-diagnosis I would get GROUCHY too…in addition to shaky and such. Then when I would go high after eating I’d feel exhausted.

  2. Karen Says:

    I just saw your comment on my blog!! I’m sorry I didn’t realize you were doing Diabetes Blog Week with us!! If you left a comment for me saying you were in, it is quite possible Blogger ate it. I did have one other person tell me they left a comment and I didn’t get it. 😦 I’ll add you to the Participants List right away. I’d like to put you in my sidebar listing of recent posts too, but it doesn’t look like your blog had an RSS feed authorized. 😦 I’ll try to get it to work, but it might not.


Leave a Reply

