Singlewhitediabetic's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Day 3 May 12, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — singlewhitediabetic @ 8:38 am

This is day number 3 of Diabetes Blog Week and the topic is: today it’s time to gush and brag about your biggest supporter. Is it your spouse or significant other? Your best friend, sibling, parent or child? Maybe it’s your endo or a great CDE? Or perhaps it’s another member of the D-OC who is always there for you? Go ahead, tell them just how much they mean to you!

As a single person, living on my own, this is a tough one for me. I can’t pick out just one person really.

I appreciate my friends. Due to my disease, they have all made an effort to learn more about diabetes, as well as listen to my ups and downs. When I was in the hospital various friends visited me with supplies (books, magazines, Diet Dr. Pepper). Friends helped with my dog too so I didn’t have to worry about her. My friends, especially Tisha, read my blog and comment on the part of my life displayed here. They have accepted this as part of their life too.

I appreciate my endo and her office staff. They are quick to respond when I need them and/or call in for advice. I never feel rushed at appointments. They remember what’s going on with me and their warmness makes me not dread the appointments!

I appreciate my mom. She’s far away but knows what’s going on with me and my blood sugars and health. She asks questions and learns more as I do. I know she’s always willing to listen to my complaints. As a nurse, she gives me advice for different issues I run into. Most importantly, she trusts that I am doing the best I can.

I’m still pretty new to the Diabetes Online Community, but I appreciate it greatly too. It helps to know I’m not the only one going through this and get ideas from others. Reading blogs is almost like medicine to me!!

While I don’t have one person I want to call out, I feel fortunate that I’m not in this alone. Thanks to all y’all!

 

3 Responses to “Day 3”

  1. It’s great that you have a variety of support. That is very helpful. The internet is a wonderful tool to research and keep you up to date on the latest technologies and advancements as well! I am glad you’re blogging about it. It has most definitely taught me a lot, that I most likely would not have otherwise known since when we’re together we always have so much “catching up” on other things to discuss!!

  2. Phyllis (mom) Says:

    I know sometimes I bug you when I ask too much about your readings but I just worry and care. I know you are very capable and careful but being a mom and knowing there is nothing you can do to make it better. I am always excited when you have a normal A1C reading too. Like all moms I wish I could have somehow saved you from diabetes. I will always be here for you and love you more.

  3. Bethanne Says:

    I like the people at my doctor’s office, too. 😀
    It’s a good thing to have that. Friends are nice, too. I find alot of my friends are still in the “you got sugar” stage of understanding diabetes. Not all of them, but some. Family, of course, is the best.


Leave a Reply

