Singlewhitediabetic's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Day 4 – to carb or not… May 13, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — singlewhitediabetic @ 4:00 pm

Day 4 – To carb or not to carb. Today let’s blog about what we eat. And perhaps what we don’t eat. Some believe a low carb diet is important in diabetes management, while others believe carbs are fine as long as they are counted and bolused for. Which side of the fence do you fall on? What kind of things do you eat for meals and snacks? What foods do you deem bolus-worthy? What other foodie wisdom would you like to share?

This is really interesting that this topic came up TODAY! My endo has wanted me to go to a nutritionist for years and a few weeks ago I scheduled an appointment…for today! When I saw this topic come up I laughed. I considered posting before I went to meet the new person in my life, but was curious what she’d say.

What I would have said first is that my focus has been on low A1C’s and not on weight and food since my diagnosis. And while my levels have really improved, my weight has risen (sky-rocketed even). So, I was in the group of “eat what I want and bolus for that” basically. Logically, I knew that no one, diabetic or not, should probably eat what they want!

So, after getting a better A1C, I decided to see the nutritionist and work on “Phase 2” – eat in a manner for an improved life span. The visit was expected to be an hour and it was almost two hours instead! LOVED her! She even agreed to leave some calories for wine in my diet! What surprised me most was how many carbs she suggested I consume – about 40% of my total calorie consumption. Whaaa?! I was glad!

Of course, that was only one part of the discussion. We talked about saturated fats and such too. I knew high fiber foods were good for me, but have a better understanding of why now. I am ready to be aware. Hopefully my insurance will approve a CGM later this month too, which will also help!

Loving this week and finding new blogs to check out!

 

4 Responses to “Day 4 – to carb or not…”

  1. mom Says:

    okay, what is a CGM? I know I could probably look it up. I am glad things went so well today. I am also glad you are excited about your eating plans. I know I have got to get my eating under control so I will be around for you. You can do this, love you baby girl.

  2. ChipMac Says:

    Keep up the great work and … Hurray wine!


Leave a Reply

