Singlewhitediabetic's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

May 16, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — singlewhitediabetic @ 12:14 pm

Sunday 5/16 – Dream a little dream – life after a cure. To wrap up Diabetes Blog Week, let’s pretend a cure has been found. We are all given a tiny little pill to swallow and *poof* our pancreases are back in working order. No side effects. No more insulin resistance. No more diabetes. Tell us what your life is now like. Or take us through your first day celebrating life without the Big D. Blog about how you imagine you would feel if you no longer were a Person With Diabetes.

I have to admit, just reading this post made me teary eyed. Compared to a lot of folks in the Diabetes Online Community, I have only been dealing with this for a small time (2.5 years). But to imagine life without is overwhelming. No more drugs. No more pump. No more finger sticks. No more planning. No more…diabetes. It almost makes my heart hurt to try to think about it with knowing that it’s not the case.

First of all, I would feel rich. Rich with money, yes…diabetes is very expensive, even with insurance. Crazy expensive, even. But, also rich with life. A life without restrictions. A life where I am not fighting weight with the added insult of insulin (including not being able to exercise without planning and pump changing). Life where people don’t have to worry about me and ask questions about my health. I’m 32. No one should be asking about my health on a regular basis.

A life without a DISEASE. Without diabetes, I’m disease free. It hurts my feelings to know I have a disease right now.

What turned into thinking about a blog post that made me teary-eyed may have resulted in full out sobbing. It’s…well, it’s just a lot. And a though of a cure is wonderful, but I can’t continue to try to imagine it now.

 

3 Responses to “”

  1. Wendy Says:

    This week has been fun…but today has been the hardest.

    It’s been interesting to see all the different perspectives of a cure.

  2. You are learning to face the challenges that life brings day by day. It makes you stronger with each new challenge. I have mad respect for you, Becca and I know that you can handle anything that life brings you. Keep your chin up and keep working hard. Maybe some day this will all come to an end with a cure. But, you will not let this define you!!! 🙂

  3. mom Says:

    Nothing of this earth would make me happier or like you make me feel richer than you not having to live with diabetes. I have all kinds of aches and pains but I know with weight loss and surgery I can get better and it hurts me to know it is not possible for you. I am with Tisha it does not define who you are. You are a strong woman with a wonderful heart and soul.


Leave a Reply

