Singlewhitediabetic's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Diabetes Sisters May 23, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — singlewhitediabetic @ 8:36 pm

The past two days were very touching to me. I met with 99 other diabetic women for some fellowship and learning. Due to a stomach bug today, I missed a lot of the learning, but wouldn’t trade the fellowship.

I was beyond excited when I showed up, but was also feeling a little shy not knowing anyone. By the time I was registered, I had made a new friend! Dinner was pretty exciting to see pumps all over the room and people testing their blood sugars right at the table. I’m normally the only one! The group ranged from 20-80 years old, a variety of races and women from all over the country.

After dinner, we started the ice breakers of having our tables of 6-8 people answer questions. My table ranged from early 20’s to 60’s and from people that had been diagnosed only a year or two to 47 years! I loved it! It was great to hear answers about diabetic and non diabetic questions. One of the questions I enjoyed most was what the most embarrassing moments had been for folks that was caused from diabetes. Is that wrong? heh. I wasn’t the only one that had been a bloody mess at some point.

As dinner ended, a new friend suggested a couple of us go grab a drink and we ended up having a great time. We enjoyed 80’s music, dancing and light beer! During our time hanging out we talked about life, but also questioned each other some about diabetes – like how different ways alcohol affects us (and different alcohols). I was the oldest of the group of 3 at 32 and it was nice to hang out with young diabetics and be able to talk about it openly.

One of my favorite “accessories” I saw at the conference was a cute, young “mom” wearing a “Diabetics make the sweetest kids” shirt. If I ever have kids, I’m totally getting that shirt.

Today, as I mentioned was a bit tougher. After lunch I was sick to my stomach and shivering in my room despite the temperature being warm. So I missed about half the sessions. Still, it was definitely worthwhile. I met awesome people and did so very cheaply thanks to awesome sponsors.

Here is a picture with me and two of my new friends that were both fantastic!

Erin, Becca, Lindsay

I’m looking forward to next year, and maybe other conferences, already!

 

3 Responses to “Diabetes Sisters”

  1. mom Says:

    It was a blessing for you to go to that conference and meet those women who go through some of the same things you go through everyday. I can’t imagine how alone you feel sometimes. I love you very much baby girl.

  2. Erin Says:

    The conference was great. I am glad that you were there.

  3. I am so stoked for you that you got to attend!!! It sounds like such a fun learning experience. 🙂


Leave a Reply

