Singlewhitediabetic's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Monday and optimistic July 12, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — singlewhitediabetic @ 10:12 am

I had a lot of down time over the weekend and felt the relieve of cooler weather moving in. I guess it revived something. I went to the farmer’s market on Saturday to pick up my goodies from my CSA. This week I picked up cucumbers, peppers, carrots and snap peas. Then last night I decided I really wanted to make myself use them this week. So I did something called preparing. I don’t normally prepare when it comes to food. So I cooked up some chicken breasts for the next few days and I chopped and sorted veggies. At the very least I’m removing the excuse of saying I don’t feel like cooking.

Today, for lunch, I brought a steam bag half filled with broccoli, cauliflower, carrots and a bit of onion that I can microwave when ready. I brought one of the chicken breasts too. Admittedly, it doesn’t sound quite as good to me as getting a wrap from downstairs, but I think that’s partly a mental thing.

I know, however, that I need to lose weight and save money…so this is a renewed attempt. It’s no set diet plan – it’s just eating foods that I know are healthier. I’m trying to be kind to this ol’ body.

 

Leave a Reply

