Singlewhitediabetic's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

More doctor love July 21, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — singlewhitediabetic @ 1:43 pm

I thought that, although this is a diabetes blog, I could share what I love about another doc too.

Today I saw my gyn. I was a bit nervous when I walked in and she was freaking out on her staff about finding a way to get a patient up on the table. Then when she called me back instead of a nurse, I add confusion to the nerves. She immediately said, “Did you hear all that?” and I laughed and told her I did. She said, “don’t worry, I don’t take it out on my patients.”

Then she asked about my Annabelle (pup) and Chloe (cat). I showed her my pump and she expressed sympathy at my marked-all-over belly. Then she grabbed me a gown and said, “You know what to do.”

When she came back in, the exam was quick and easy with lots of funny joking around. She’s sarcastic and I like that. She’s also very up front. She told her nurse then to weigh me and get my blood pressure. I told her I had them done two days ago one floor up, so she accepted those numbers. When I told her my weight I said, “I know it’s high.” She said, “yeah, do something about that, will ya?” I told her I was working on it and she assured me that she knew I could make it.

Less than an hour in and out with lots of laughing and head-shaking. I like that. Not to say I “like” the exam, but it’s not the worst thing in the world.

 

Leave a Reply

