Singlewhitediabetic's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

When diabetes gets…well, kinky. October 5, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — singlewhitediabetic @ 8:17 pm

Saturday was one of the most insane days I’ve had in a while and it ended up being even more so because of a big, ol’ kink.

I went out Friday night with some friends for a fundraising event. Only relevant because I got to bed a bit late for starting the day. My BG was a little hight that morning, but I attributed it to a late night snack and went on my merry way.

Interestingly enough I started the day with my first diabetes walk. Thanks again to the donators and my friend Tracy for coming out to walk with me!

I went straight from the walk to a wedding. I had a couple of Oktoberfests and a nice meal after the ceremony. I noticed friends seemed to be asking if I was okay, even though I felt a-okay. I decided to check again. 365. WTF?! I gave myself more insulin and yet continued to see my numbers go up to 400. !!!!!! I haven’t seen numbers that high in a long, long, long time…maybe since around the time I was diagnosed.

However, rather than going home I really needed to go to football because I had the shirts/balls since our coach was out. On my way I find the issue – my tubing has gotten tied up in a knot. *grumble* At this point I only had four units of insulin in my pump left. I took and played some ball.

After the game I was under 300 and after getting home I got down in no time.

That darn kinked up tubing…a damper on an otherwise wonderful day! Next time I’ll remember to check tubing first.

 

Leave a Reply

