Singlewhitediabetic's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Thankful Thursdays – 17 November 25, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — singlewhitediabetic @ 7:41 pm

So appropriate to fall on Thanksgiving. It has been a day, as it normally is, that allows for many of us to reflect on the parts of our lives that we are most thankful for. While I’ve been mostly trying to be original every week, for this week, I really want to reflect on TODAY without the worries of repeats. In no particular order:

1. That my pump/insulin allowed me to indulge in a lot of fabulous foods without a lot of stress. I may have a broken pancreas, but mother nature has had a hand in helping with the disability.

2. My friend Kristen. She’s really helped to “take care of” me the past couple of days by being there for me and being willing to get dirty to help me get some things done to make my world a better place. She also insured I was able to spend the day in a loving, warm environment. She’s been one of those friends that has morphed into family. It’s not always easy for me to either ask for or accept help, but she makes both easy. It’s a really special gift and I know I’m very fortunate to have someone like her in my life.

3. My kitty and puppy. They were excited to hear “HAPPY THANKSGIVING” this morning before I left and to see me when I got home. My Bell-Leigh (Annabelle Leigh, i.e. Belly) has been particularly lovey tonight which always warms my heart.

4. That I have people in my life that I know love me beyond a shadow of a doubt. To name a few – my Mom, Tisha, Felicia, and my Bro.

5. Hugs. A nice thing about a holiday is extra hugs. I love hugs. Feel free to give me one when we meet again.

6. Heat! I thought mine was out yesterday and it was just a pilot light. The idea of no heat in MD was not nice (and folks were booked up for a week to come out). You don’t know what you got ’till it’s gone, right?!

7. My house. Especially thanks to 2, 3 and 6 above!

8. Sweet babies. Nothing makes the world seem more gentle than a loving, happy baby. I got to spend the day with one today.

9. Kindness. I try to remind myself several times a day to be kind to both myself and others.

10. The wonderful thought of having a close friend for 16 years (that has lived 1100 miles away for 10 of those) come to spend the next few days with me. I’ll get to show her a little more of Baltimore and introduce her to Philly! And I’m expecting nothing but good news on Monday.

P.S. 11. Anyone reading this blog. I appreciate you and am thankful for you.

 

4 Responses to “Thankful Thursdays – 17”

  1. mom Says:

    I am thankful everyday for you and your warm heart and love for your sometimes groofy mama. I am so thankful that you have woderful friends and extended family there. I love you.

  2. Becca Says:

    I love you more!

  3. Felicia Says:

    Awwww. Can’t wait to see you tomorrow! Lots of #5!

  4. Beautiful as always 🙂 Happy Thanksgiving, Becca!


Leave a Reply

