Singlewhitediabetic's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Diabetes Blog Week – Day One May 9, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — singlewhitediabetic @ 6:51 pm

Admiring our differences – Monday 5/9: Pick a type of blogger who is different from you and tell us why they inspire you – why you admire them – why it’s great that we are all the same but different!!

I have neglected this blog for quite some time, especially the diabetes part. So I am participating in the second annual Diabetes Blog Week to pick up steam.

This one gave me some pause because a lot of the blogs I read are people who I feel are “like me” – women of a certain age range, type one’s, funny, smart and so forth. 😉 However, one of the most popular of these is from an awesome blogger who has spent the last year raising a baby and sharing that experience with us.

Kerrie has really shown how someone can be a diabetic that takes good care of themselves while taking care of someone else at the same time. It might sound silly to say, but once I was diagnosed I didn’t know if I ever would feel up for taking care of someone else after figuring myself out. Now I might not be sure that I will have kids, but I know that I could. I’ve been inspired!

One of the things that has come up a few times, which is true for others too, is that we have to take care of our diabetes and the rest of our health in order to live a long life with those we love. We can’t control that we got the disease, but we can control how we manage it.

Go Diabetics!

On a side note, I spent the day playing golf at a fundraising tournament a friend put together…all proceeds benefiting diabetes. I feel so blessed!!

 

3 Responses to “Diabetes Blog Week – Day One”

  1. ChipMac Says:

    I’ve missed your blog entries. Good to see you back. 🙂

  2. I am glad that you are doing well. Keep it up!


Leave a Reply

