Singlewhitediabetic's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Diabetes Blogging Week – Day 2 – A letter May 10, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — singlewhitediabetic @ 4:39 pm

Today’s task is to write a letter to something associated with diabetes. Doctor, disease, self, device maker or some such. I thought on this for a bit and have decided…

Dear Supporters,

THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU!

When I was diagnosed 1208 days ago, I found it really overwhelming. Some days I still do. Overall, however, I have found that there has been a lot of love shown to me in obvious and not so obvious ways. In no particular order:

–My #1 fan – My mom. I know sometimes you want to say things or ask questions but respect me as an adult to keep you updated and to ask for help when I need it. I really appreciate that.

–My family and friends. You know who you are. The ones that read this blog to learn more. The ones that ask “is everything okay” when I’m testing and looking worried. The ones that supported my first diabetes walk last year that helped me raise a bunch of money. The ones that don’t mind hearing about bizarre things that happen like getting stuck on a door knob ‘cause my tubing was caught….and even those who dealt with my pre-diagnosis bitchiness at lunchtime. Oh, and my friend Ryan that organized an event that raised over $1000 yesterday for the diabeeeetus!

–My pooch. My Annabelle Leigh was only 6 months old when I was diagnosed and really I don’t know how I would’ve dealt with those first few months of frustrations without her wagging tail. Sometimes my little girl feels like my angel. I could write a book about her – Marley can’t even compete!

–My endocrinologist and her front desk helper too. Dr. Shroeder and Ruth are so nice and patient and never judging. I truly believe they are there to help me and make my life longer.

–My fellow bloggers. My world eases every time I read a post that makes me nod my head or send prayers or laugh at experiences.

–The poor pharmacist that helped get my insulin prescription renewed at 4:50 PM the day before I was leaving for vacation. I happened to have a low at about the same time they said I didn’t have a current prescription that just had me in huge, alligator tears.

–My coworkers. Some of these fall in the friend category above but others have just had to wait a few minutes for a meeting to start while I sip on a soda to at least wait for the shakes to stop and others for laughing with me while I’m doing jumping jacks in the conference room to bring my numbers down.

–You. You reading this.

Thank you from the bottom of my Arkansas-raised heart.

Love,
Becca

 

3 Responses to “Diabetes Blogging Week – Day 2 – A letter”

  1. Very sweet to send a shout out to the supporters! Great idea!! 🙂

  2. Pearlsa Says:

    Great post I am looking forward to reading more of your post.

  3. mom Says:

    Sometimes it is hard not to ask but I do respect you and know if something goes wrong you will let me know and if you need to talk you will let me know. Love you always and forever..mom


Leave a Reply

