Singlewhitediabetic's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Diabetes Blogging Week – Day 3 – Bloopers May 11, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — singlewhitediabetic @ 5:14 pm

Today’s Topic: Go ahead and share your Diabetes Blooper – your “I can’t believe I did that” moment – your big “D-oh” – and let’s all have a good laugh together.

I read this and thought about it quite a bit. I realized, however, I don’t have one set thing that comes to mind but a few small things that make me roll my eyes at my old self.

1. The night I was diagnosed I got a call from my doctor while I was on the way to a party. My doc that had done blood work that Friday afternoon and then called and said my blood sugar was over 600 (I had NO idea what that meant) and I should go straight to my hospital. I stopped at taco bell and carbo-loaded up. DOH! I was over 800 when admitted.

2. The hospital released me 8 hours later with directions to make an appt with my doctor on Monday. The next day I was hungry so grabbed a slice of pizza. That afternoon I went back to the hospital at almost 500. DOH! This time they kept me overnight and gave me at least a few minutes of information.

3. The time I was hanging out at a local bar, writing on my laptop, and went to get up to find the front of my pants covered with blood! DOH! Apparently my pump site had hit a geyser. Laptop over pants to sneak out.

4. I met a guy and the diabetes just didn’t come up naturally in conversation. Imagine his surprise when his hands found my tubing. DOH!

This list could probably go on and on. I’ll admit that none of these were funny to me at the time they happened, but reflecting on them makes me feel dia-wiser.

 

One Response to “Diabetes Blogging Week – Day 3 – Bloopers”

  1. nicole Says:

    lol we did the same thing to Cara before her diagnosis. For lunch she ate 2 huge plate fulls of macaroni and cheese 4 hours later we were in the ER with a blood sugar of 957.


Leave a Reply

