Singlewhitediabetic's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Diabetes Blog Week – Day 5 May 13, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — singlewhitediabetic @ 10:10 am

What awesome thing have you done BECAUSE of diabetes? After all, like my blog header says, life with diabetes isn’t all bad!

I’ve done some awesome things while being diabetic, but was trying to really think about this as what have I done with the all-caps because.

The first thing that came to mind was something I should have remembered for the bloopers day. I was not feeling well the day of my first 5k (3 months post-diagnosis), but felt compelled to run it. I kept having to stop to cough and had to walk more than I expected. I ended up just under 40 minutes and the next day found out I had bronchitis. Not so smart!! Now I wish I was in the shape I was then – maybe this is the wake-up call to get back there by remembering it.

Okay, that one doesn’t win! I think the thing I’ve done that I’m most proud of is raising money for a walk last year. It was my first diabetes walk. A friend joined me, which made it even better. I was so happy and humbled by the friends that donated from large to small amounts. Every donation meant so much to me, to know that people were willing to put their hard-earned money towards improvements and a cure for ME and the other people that have this disease. I will do it again this year, for sure, and hope to have more folks on my team.

Reflecting on this makes me feel hopeful.

 

2 Responses to “Diabetes Blog Week – Day 5”

  1. Lauren Says:

    Right on! Way to go in collecting money for your walk–I ought to get back into that habit.

  2. Lauren Says:

    I love doing the walk as well! You should try to do another 5k! That would be awesome!


Leave a Reply

