Singlewhitediabetic's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Diabetic Retinopathy December 7, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — singlewhitediabetic @ 9:22 pm

It’s amazing how depressing doing research can be when you’re diabetic.

 One of the first things I was told was I should get a dilated eye exam annually once I was diagnosed.  I have had glasses since I was 11, so seeing the eye doctor was no new thing.  However, this does add some time.  Regular eye exam:  better 1, better 2 + the drops.  Then you are released to wait for half an hour in the waiting room and then brought back in.  This past July the eye doctor saw some “scarring” that made him refer me elsewhere.  

Lovely. 

So, in July I went to a specialty clinic.  It was a horrible experience.  I will add my mom had surgery the day before and I had a call immediately before that things weren’t great so my eyes were bloodshot to begin with.  So I went and got dilated.  Waited.  Decided I should be more dilated.  (I have large eyes). Then I went back to get photos taken…the person missed my vein completely and just filled my arm with yellow dye.  Then I went into an exam room for a while.  I finally saw a young doctor.  She gave me her opinion.  I waited an hour to see the more experienced doctor for him to repeat everything and then ask about my diabetes.  “You should never go above 130,” he said.  

Insert dragon head here and fire with “YOU KNOW I’M A TYPE 1 DIABETIC, RIGHT?””  

Yep.  Um…even if I have the most perfect numbers I rise more than that number from just waking up, getting ready and going to work…no food…

It really turned me off.  So much so that I put off the follow-up exam for a month longer than was suggested.  This time, it was annoying but no dye in my arm and an hour less time.  He did ask about my diabetes again and I said I had gotten the Dexcom and was mostly under 200 (which would be AWESOME, bells in Heaven AWESOME) and he said “we really need you to stay under 130.”  

So do I do/say something?  This is obviously absurd.  

Oh, the second eye exam they said the pocket of fluid was gone and my eyes look great.  Though when I asked if I could switch to coming annually after one more check he said “people like you should come at least every 9 months.”  People like me are diabetic.  

 

2 Responses to “Diabetic Retinopathy”

  1. kim Says:

    i wonder what he would have said if you had said “i really need you to stay under the front wheels of my car”??

    i am sooo sick of doctors (and that included endo’s, opthamologists, GP’s, and some nurses) that ask about our “numbers” and then proceed to tell us what they “should be” as if we don’t already know this and strive to achieve the unachievable EVERY.DAY.

  2. kim Says:

    oh and p.s. glad your eyes are doing better!! 8)


Leave a Reply

