Singlewhitediabetic's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Diabetes blog week – Day 5 May 19, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — singlewhitediabetic @ 10:18 am

What They Should Know: Today let’s borrow a topic from a #dsma chat held last September. The tweet asked “What is one thing you would tell someone that doesn’t have diabetes about living with diabetes?”. Let’s do a little advocating and post what we wish people knew about diabetes. Have more than one thing you wish people knew? Go ahead and tell us everything.

I’m a day late, but hopefully not a dollar short. I’m at a conference for women with diabetes right now. I spent yesterday driving over 6 hours and then meeting new people, so was short on time. Today I’m taking a 45 minute break and then headed back down. More to come post-conference!

For this topic, what comes to me most is just to share that thinking about diabetes takes up a lot of my time. Do I need to test? Am I high or low? How many carbs are in this? How is that exercise going to affect me? Am I going to have complications? Where can i wear my pump with this outfit? Do I have enough supplies with me for the day? You get the point. On a normal day, I would guess that at least 1-2 of my 24 hours is spent specifically on thoughts about diabetes. On a day when I’m fighting it, it’s more. So, if you wonder why I talk about it so much, that’s why. Nothing I do is a safe zone for me to not consider the d…even sleep.

Okay, I lied about not talking about the conference, but something came up that’s timely with this. Last night after our intro, a lot of us hung out in the hotel lobby/lounge. I ended up in deep conversation with three other ladies – one in her 20’s, one in her 40’s and one in her 50’s (I was covering the 30’s). We shared things that don’t come up often with our friends, let alone near-strangers. At one point, one of my Diabetes Sisters said, "Are any of you ever afraid?" Yes, we admitted pretty quickly, we are all afraid. But, we’re not letting it stop us. We are here, learning more and trying to improve our lives.

So, in summary…it’s a big deal to me.

 

One Response to “Diabetes blog week – Day 5”

  1. It is a big deal…and a constant worry, not only for you but for those of us who love you also.
    My prayer is that some day it will not be a worry and that there will be a “cure”.


Leave a Reply

