Singlewhitediabetic's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Diabetes Blog Week – Day 7 May 20, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — singlewhitediabetic @ 8:21 pm

Let’s end our week on a high note and blog about our “Diabetes Hero”. It can be anyone you’d like to recognize or admire, someone you know personally or not, someone with diabetes or maybe a Type 3. It might be a fabulous endo or CDE. It could be a d-celebrity or role-model. It could be another DOC member. It’s up to you – who is your Diabetes Hero.

As true for much of my life, my hero is my mother. A Type-3 who knows and loves me + a lot of her family who have Type 2. Here are a few things that make her my diabetes hero:

–Before my diagnosis, my mother had bought a home big enough to be able to bring her mom and brother in to live with her. My grandmother was a type-2 and suffering from dementia. My mom administered her shots and testing every day. When someone has dementia, even these daily things were not always easy.

–Since my diagnosis, my mom has worked to learn a lot about the things I’m going through. I was an adult when I was diagnosed so she hasn’t had to give me shots or physically handle the care, but she’s worried as much as any other diabetic-mama. Anytime I fund-raise, she’s there on the list even if it means other expenses have to be cut. She listens to all my horror stories, has suffered through my two hospital visits from afar and I know would travel as fast as needed if it ever came to that. She’s my cheerleader when I’m hard on myself, my cheerleader when I’m proud of myself and my cheerleader when I don’t even know I need it. You get the point. It’s empowering to know someone loves me regardless of how well I’m doing. She’s always willing to listen and she’s also learned to be understanding that I want to manage how much I am checked in on when I’m testing around her and such. I’m sure it’s not easy.

–My mom also is now starting to help manage her brother’s diabetes. My uncle was paralyzed in an accident almost 15 years ago and was just recently diagnosed as a Type-2. He and my mom are both still starting to try and learn how to best manage. I know he’s in good hands with his sister (oh, she’s a nurse I didn’t mention) there to help him.

I love my mama and I appreciate her more all the time. I hope she never gets the D herself…she’s living with it enough already!

 

4 Responses to “Diabetes Blog Week – Day 7”

  1. crazyworkingmom Says:

    Beautiful post!!
    I love that hero of yours. ;D

  2. Hi Becca,

    I was wondering if you accepted any guest posting on your site. You have had some great Diabetes Blog Week posts and I was wondering if we could contribute one about Diabetes medication safety.

    I couldn’t manage to find your email on the site. If you could get a hold of me at jeff@drugwatch.com, I would greatly appreciate it!

    Thanks,
    -Jeff

  3. Phyllis Schwoch Says:

    I love you very much and so proud of you for so many reasons.

  4. snackrifices Says:

    Wow! Your mom is awesome!!


Leave a Reply

