Singlewhitediabetic's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Sometimes I’m still surprised February 1, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Becca S @ 12:00 pm

I pride myself on testing frequently and being able to tell when I’m running high or low. Sometimes, however, I’m still surprised by highs. I skipped breakfast today and changed my site. I didn’t test this morning though, like I normally do ’cause I felt like I was fine. However, before lunch I pulled out my meter and was shocked to see 262. My lunch was pretty low in carbs, so I bolused and I’m sure I’ll be fine shortly…but it’s still annoying. I do feel guilt when I’m high. Why did I skip this morning? Really I think it’s that I had bad dreams and have felt really stressed all morning…so I’m blaming it on that!

I was so excited this morning that both my battery and insulin were showing full on my meter too!

I’m giving up diet sodas, after having SEVERAL a day for as long as I can remember, so I wonder if that’s going to have an effect on my readings. Certainly it’s affecting me otherwise – I’m grouchy. I am drinking water like it’s going out of style though and have probably already saved a few bucks.

I sometimes wonder if life will ever feel like I don’t need to change things I do and how I handle things. It’s tiring sometimes that there’s seemingly so much “to fix.”

 

One Response to “Sometimes I’m still surprised”

  1. Skipping breakfast is easily done with the busy lifestyles we lead nowadays, but really it should be top priority for everyone, diabetic or not. It helps keep your body from going into starvation mode and hoarding up the fat. Can you keep some fruit or fiber bars @ the office so if you forget breakfast you’ll have something there when you get there?

    Yay for the diet soda dump! You’ll feel better for it, I’m sure. 🙂

    Keep up the good work. Let’s say it together like Bob The Builder: Can We Fix IT?! YES WE CAN!

    *LOL*


Leave a comment